Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Nfb switch on 5e3 clone

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by Stevo1956, Nov 14, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Stevo1956

Stevo1956 TDPRI Member

Nov 14, 2017
    Pflugerville tx
    Hi guys
    Wondering if anyone can help me out here.
    I built this clone 5e3 off eBay about 8 years ago and found some info about a nfb switch .
    I did the mod but in one position of the switch I get a squeal
    Not loud but not good.
    This amp has the Bruce Collins volume mod 2 separate that don' interact anymore.
    One last thing I was a newbie when I built this so forgive me for not getting any terms correct when asked a question.
    Thanks in advance for any help ,stevo

2. clintj

clintj Friend of Leo's

Apr 4, 2015
    Idaho
    You need to swap the two wires that go to pin 3 on each power tube. What's going on is the polarity is reversed, so the negative feedback becomes positive feedback, turning the amp into a miniature air raid siren.

3. Stevo1956

Stevo1956 TDPRI Member

Nov 14, 2017
    Pflugerville tx
    Thank you for your response
    After some reading I also realised I never removed the bypass cap
    The amp sounds great in 2 positions on the switch
    Also I forgot to mention I have 4 8 and 16 ohm taps and am only using the 16 ohm tap an that where I soldered my resistor.
    I do not have an impedance switch either.
    Thanks again for any info
    I stopped playing this amp for a while now I just rediscovered how good it does sound

4. Stevo1956

Stevo1956 TDPRI Member

Nov 14, 2017
    Pflugerville tx

5. Stevo1956

Stevo1956 TDPRI Member

Nov 14, 2017
    Pflugerville tx
    The kit I built years ago has a different
    Layout where as the the v2 bypass cap an resistor attach at the Same point unlike on robs amp.