Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups darrenriley.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

New saddles causing issues

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by Jode, Mar 13, 2018.

1. Jode

Jode TDPRI Member

Feb 12, 2007
    Glasgow
    Hi everyone,

May have previously posted this in the wrong place, so here I go again...

I just had some Rutter straight comp saddles brought over to the UK to replace the stock ones on a '96 Japanese tele, 7.25 radius. It's my first time changing saddles over, and I'm having a lot of trouble with the G buzzing, particularly on bends but also just straight fretting higher up the neck. Raising the string doesn't seem to have much effect.

The guitar was set up absolutely perfectly beforehand, with a pretty low action, so I think it's unlikely to be a fretwork issue... I guess my question is - is this likely to be an issue isolated to my installation of the saddles, or is it a situation where every aspect of the setup now needs to be checked over?

I should add that the saddles certainly seem of very high quality - not suggesting otherwise for a second. Any advice much appreciated!

2. Wally

Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

Mar 17, 2003
    Lubbock, TX
    I took a look onl8ne. I don’t like the way those saddles are slotted. It appears that the large contact patch in the saddle could lead to dead, dull and buzzy sonics....nothing that a good hand of a knowledgeable tech could not fix in a few minutes. Fwiw, I have been compensating those large brass Tele saddles for over two decades.

3. KokoTele

KokoTele Doctor of Teleocity Vendor Member

Mar 17, 2003
    albany, ny [not chicago]