New member here, but I'm not new to the Telecaster.

Discussion in 'Welcome Wagon' started by stanger, Mar 14, 2019 at 2:22 AM.

1. stanger

stanger TDPRI Member

Hi folks...
    I'm glad I discovered this forum!

I'm 74, and am a retired pro musician. Music was only one of my peculiar careers, and more of a sideline than the others, as I have always made most of my income as an artist. But there were many years when that sideline was more profitable than my artistry.

My love of the Telecaster was accidental, as I've always been a banjoist first and foremost, and never had much interest in playing any electric instrument until I had been playing the banjo and an acoustic guitar for over 10 years.

I was around 28 before I ever picked up a Tele, and I chose the guitar only because I was newly married and had an offer to join a good local dance band drop in my lap. My Martin wouldn't ever cut the mustard in it, so I needed an electric guitar.

The Tele is the most banjo-like guitar ever made in my view, and once I tried one out in early 1972, at a music store owned by a friend, who let me take it out on a gig, I knew it was the right choice for me, and bought it. My first Tele was made in either 1969 or 1970 (can't remember just when it was made anymore), and it became my go-to electric for the next 27 years.

I was never the best player on any of my instruments, but I've always had a very wide range of musical interests; I love jazz as much as bluegrass, and country just as much as rock, and I don't mind playing a sappy top-40 kid hit if the pay is good. So it all led me into many different bands, and my Tele could handle anything I was ever able to play in them all.

Eventually, I got a reputation as a good replacement player for the times when a band's regular lead player couldn't make a gig. I became fairly adept at winging it stone cold, and the Tele really helped me out with its simplicity.