Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reiland Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Join TDPRI Today

New amp day! Peavey "Rock Master" head

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by f13ndus, Jul 15, 2009.

  1. f13ndus

    f13ndus TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Got this in a trade yesterday. It's a Peavey "Rock Master" head, not to be confused with the more recent preamp of the same name. 4 x 6L6GCs, 3 x 12AX7, 120W of output! Talk about clean headroom... Anybody else used one of these before?

    It's a pretty basic amp, one and a half channels really, but it does do a very a neat switching trick so it's like having two channels! It has 3 gain controls, labelled Pre, Pump, and Post. Basically two preamp gains and a master volume. In the Clean mode, the master volume/Post is always set to 10, and the "Pump" is out of the circuit, so you've only got the "Pre" control. Loads of clean headroom! Hit the footswitch so you're on the Dirty or "Pump" setting, and you've got all 3 knobs again. The "Pre" doesn't really do much on this setting, however. It's easiest to think of it as two separate channels, with "Pre" being the clean volume setting, and "Pump" and "Post" being the dirty gain/volume settings.

    EQ is typical 3 band, seems to be passive TMB style, with Presence control. The only other feature it has is an effects loop - not switchable, and it's TRS jack so you need a splitter, but useful for accessing the preamp feed, or using the power section with another preamp.

    I've attached a picture - is it just me, or is the output transformer rather large? (I've never owned an amp that's 100+ watts before, so I don't know what goes for "normal" as far as output transformer size) Wouldn't be suprising, since Peavey amps are in my experience built like tanks...

    I do have the cabinet, but it's nasty and being cleaned. Plus I want to make a custom front panel for better ventilation. I already cleaned the chassis, though, so I can show you that. :D

    Looks to have all-original tubes, Peavey labelled. The power tubes are actually Sylvania/Phillips STR-387 tubes - I just looked them up and realized they're pretty desirable. I could probably sell the quad for quite a bit more than I've got into the amp so far... but if they sound so good I might as well keep 'em, right?

    Anyway... just wanted to share the new toy!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. e-merlin

    e-merlin Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    14,843
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Location:
    Garden City, KS
    Oh, man! That's too cool. I bet that's loud and sounds great with a Tele!
     
  3. f13ndus

    f13ndus TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    The tone stack is set up a little differently from the amp I've been using, so it's taking some tweaking. Gonna have to open her up when the neighbors are gone and see what she's like then! I don't have a Tele right now - but I'm slowly piecing another one together, I miss the ones that I've sold. My T-15 is close enough, tone-wise, for now...

    Just realized! All of a sudden my rig is ALL Peavey - Peavey T-15 guitar, Peavey T-20 bass, old Peavey Bandit as a low/medium volume amp, this Peavey Rock Master as a medium/high volume (and also bass) amp, vintage Peavey 4x10 cabinet for guitar, vintage Peavey 2x15 cab for bass! If I were a better player, I'd ask them for a sponsorship deal ;)
     
  4. Forum Sponsor Sponsored posting

  5. e-merlin

    e-merlin Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    14,843
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Location:
    Garden City, KS
    We need a T-series guitar club. I've got two T-15s. I love those big single coil Super Ferrites. Kind of the best of a Tele bridge pickup and a P-90 rolled into one. I've got an extra pair I'm going to build a Tele around.

    I've always found that when setting up a new amp I start with everything full up! No frequency cuts.
     
  6. rangercaster

    rangercaster Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,065
    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    portland, or
    i'm a huge Peavey fan .... i need earplugs just looking at it ... :mrgreen:
     
  7. Firebirdv

    Firebirdv NEW MEMBER!

    Age:
    46
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    new jersey


    I had one of these in my teens back in the 80's it was a JCM 800 killer. I just found one and bought it used a t a GC. Cant wait till it gets here. It is in the Texas store so it will have to be shipped.
     
  8. eugenedunn

    eugenedunn Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,615
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    That's cool..... I once had a Peavey Roadmaster head.... 160 watts powered by SIX 6L6GC. I wish I knew what I do now..... I think I might have gotten much better tone out of the thing back in the day (Mid 80's).

    All the Pre, Post, Pump, Thick controls were distracting and confusing to my inexperienced head...... But it was LOUD. It'd be nice to have that one back..

    Congrats on a cool score
     
  9. Fontane57

    Fontane57 Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    293
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Location:
    panama city, fla
    big iron , big power . pv has always used bigger trannies than most other companys to do the same thing . thats why they last !
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Share This Page