Need some help finding an inexpensive, decent acoustic

Discussion in 'Acoustic Heaven' started by NateD81, Mar 27, 2019.

1. NateD81

NateD81 TDPRI Member

Hello all -

I'm trying to find a decent acoustic and am feeling overwhelmed with where to start.

First of all - my budget is in the 600$ range-- I'm a teacher and just play at home and occasionally record, so I electronics aren't something that I particularly care about. It's fine if they're in the guitar, but I couldn't care less about those features.

I've owned a Martin 2001 DC-16GTE that I sold along with some other gear to buy my wife an engagement ring back when I was a broke student. Now I'm a broke teacher and while I loved that guitar, it's not really in my future.

I've played some Taylors and to be honest, I really loved the feel of the 114CE, and it sounded fine to me -- but I'm open to other guitars. I really like an easy to play guitar.

I prefer a smaller bodied guitar, and I prefer cutaway guitars but it's not a necessity. I'm intrigued by parlor size and up, and I play almost entirely fingerstyle. I've heard a lot of good things about Recording King and Simon & Patrick guitars but there's nowhere near me where I can try one so I'd be buying blind which makes me slightly nervous.

I'd prefer the used market via Reverb / eBay as I know I'll get more bang for the buck -- if that helps with suggestions.

Thank you all for your help/education!

2. Recce

Recce Tele-Afflicted

I actually have two small bodied Martins but in the range you are looking at I would recommend an Alvarez. I always thought they played well and meet your price point.

3. NateD81

NateD81 TDPRI Member

Is there a particular Alvarez model you’d suggest - or just anything in the price range / size I’m looking at?

4. stephent2

stephent2 Poster Extraordinaire

Buy a Martin Dr J and pocket the rest of the $$s. Best Buy in that price range and Martin quality.

studio1087 and Lake Placid Blue like this.
  5. Milspec