Need Help ID'ing Speaker Specs

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by CLewisW, Jun 7, 2019.

1. CLewisW

CLewisW TDPRI Member

I would be grateful if somebody could help me figure out some details on this speaker. I'm mostly concerned about identifying the wattage capability. From the other info I've found it seems to be a Rola Jensen and I assume it's alnico.

A bit of backstory: On my way to guitar lessons many years ago I spotted a Hammond organ at the curb and later went back to pick it up. A couple years back I started to part it out to make use of parts that still functioned. As a guitarist I was definitely interested in the speakers. They are both 10 inchers. The other one is a Chicago Jensen and is clearly marked as such, model EM 1002.

This speaker has sparse ID markings so I can't tell a whole lot about it. It's in pretty good shape aside from some minor basket corrosion. The cone and spider are holding strong. The other one is going to Weber for a re-cone because the spider is lifting and the cone is delicate.

I appreciate any and all help with identifying the specs on this speaker. Thank you IMG_3448.JPG IMG_3455.JPG IMG_3454.JPG IMG_3458.JPG

2. 2 Headed Goat

2 Headed Goat Tele-Afflicted

285 = Rola
    34th week of 1954
    Yes, Alnico magnet. Hammond used quality materials... the AO may refer to quality as with Jensen, P,Q,R Concerts series etc...
    Wattage wise - its probably on the lower end of the spectrum tho the magnet does look a bit beefy. I'd say ~20-25W max. The type of power tubes in the amp section can indicate the output power... a duet of 6V6's or EL84's you're looking at 10-20W watts. 6L6's, EL34's or a approx double the wattage.
    Wally and others can most likely shed more light on things...

Last edited: Jun 7, 2019
    Wally likes this.
  3. Dacious

Dacious Poster Extraordinaire

That being a straight cone is a 'bass' speaker. They paired a straight and ribbed cone in the early days.