Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups darrenriley.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Need Help~ Gretsch Armrest on Telecaster

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by ickylick, Mar 13, 2018.

1. ickylick

ickylick Tele-Meister

Jan 21, 2011
    New York
    I would like to add a Gretsch Penguin Armrest to my new Tele but I need some help & guidance.
    FE9252002233_HOME.jpg
    s-l300.jpg

I have no experience with metal work, but does anyone here know how to make the OEM Gretsch Penguin armrest fit my tele properly?
    Is there a simple solution to bending the metal to fit? Also, does anyone know how malleable the guard is?
    Should I use double sided 3M tape over drilling new holes? Does 3M tape leave marks on a poly body?
    Any & all help would be so very appreciated~

Here's a pic of my Tele for those who want to see what I'm working with and aren't tired of my posts (lol).
    IMG_0364.JPG

Last edited: Mar 13, 2018

2. nojazzhere

nojazzhere Friend of Leo's

Feb 3, 2017
    Foat Wuth, Texas
    With all due respect, why do you want to put a BMW badge on a Mercedes? If anything, put a forearm bevel (like a Strat) on your Tele. If you just want bling, get a flashy pickguard. Please explain....I don't get it. :) It's a BEAUTIFUL guitar as it is!!!!

3. orangeblossom

orangeblossom Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter

3A745248-2CC9-4B81-A9E3-1339F49BAEA2.jpeg Here’s one made of rosewood. Two-sided tape and can be removed with a hairdryer easily. I can’t see any need on a tele though. Pic added.duh

ickylick likes this.

4. BorderRadio

BorderRadio Poster Extraordinaire Silver Supporter

Apr 2, 2014
    Phoenix, AZ