NAD Traynor YRM-1 Reverb Master. Questions...

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by KeepItSimpleTele, Jan 5, 2019.

1. KeepItSimpleTele

KeepItSimpleTele TDPRI Member

Just got an unexpected addition to the Traynor amp collection for 400 canadian bones. 1974 Traynor Reverb Master. I’ve read some people say these are basically a YBA-1 (based on a Fender Tweed Bassman circuit), and some people say they are more Fender Blackface-like in circuit. Now, Blackface (scooped) and Tweed (mid snarly) are opposites in my experience. I’ve only had a little time to play with this YRM, but it sounds like a cleaner version of my YBA Mod1 reissue amp (which admittedly isn’t totally true to the originals). Any experience and thoughts on how alike the core circuits of YBA and YRMs actually are?

I took some gut pictures. It seems pretty clean, however, and I’m no expert, but have components been changed in here? Some of the components looks very new to me. A proper grounded cord has been added, and the reverb looks new (MOD tank). The EL84 reverb tube driver looks like an original Phillips one however and the transformers look original. Not sure.

Last edited: Jan 6, 2019
    flyswatter and sammy123 like this.
  2. Wally

Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

That YRM1 is a take on the BF Fender AB763 Reverb amp circuit....very different from the YBA1/Tweed Bassman thing.

KeepItSimpleTele likes this.
  3. KeepItSimpleTele

Thanks for citing the circuit Wally. I’m thinking of changing the EL34s to JJ beam tetrode 6CA7s to push in even further into the blackface camp.

I’m still wondering if anyone with some amp tech knowledge can see if this amp has been modified beyond the typical three prong grounding and capacitor changes?

4. Wally

Wally Telefied Ad Free Member