Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

My first Telecaster type build

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by richa, May 6, 2016.

1. richa

richa Tele-Afflicted Ad Free Member

Apr 23, 2016
    Washington
    This is my first Tele-type build. I've built some 3 and 4 string cigar box guitars but this is my first 6 string. I sort of had an idea I might post some pics when it was all done…but after seeing some of the other build threads I decided to provide some entertainment as it unfolds. After all, what do we live for but to give our neighbors sport? That said I'm already a ways into this build so I'll reconstruct how I got here as best I can over a few posts. So here goes my first TDPRI thread.

I have two real goals.
    1. End up with a guitar to start learning 6 string. I'm a novice guitar player and enjoy the open tunings typical with cigar box guitars. I didn't really start out with the idea of even wanting to play six string. I mean…I've only got four fingers…what's up with that? But playing three and four string at some point you think to yourself…if only I had another string say…oh I dunno… maybe four half steps lower…and the light comes on. So anyway I'm going to give it a go.
    2. Make as many build mistakes as I can as fast as I can. This approach has worked very well with the cigar box guitars so I see little reason to change it…and I'm really good at the making mistakes part so there's a real sense of accomplishment there. :)

Body: Basswood - found a decent piece for cheap at a local lumber store. A bit soft - dunno if I'd use it again but there are things I like about it. Anyway, press on.

Neck: Hard maple from the odds and ends bin at same lumber store.

Fretboard: TBD

Pickups: Wilde (Bill and Becky Lawrence) L48TL bridge, L-500C neck