Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

My Cabronita Build - Bridge Saddle Question.

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by Lamf77, Oct 12, 2017.

1. Lamf77

Lamf77 TDPRI Member

Nov 6, 2014
    Illinois
    I am putting a Cabronita together and am just about finished. I am no expert, hence my question.
    I put the high and low "E" strings on to help get the neck straight and check alignment. The HipShot Bridge fits perfect, and while the string are not exactly over the pickup poles, they are pretty close.
    I am going to take it into the shop for set up; but noticed in my "quick" check of the these strings, the saddles on the HipShot are really high. The two screw which are inside the HipShot saddles in seem to be almost as far into the saddle as they can go, without coming out the other end?
    My neck and everything else is ok? Just wondering if this was normal.
    Thanks!
    Mike

bridge.jpg

2. crossroader

crossroader Tele-Afflicted Gold Supporter

Sep 24, 2004
    Endicott, NY
    Yeah, those saddles seem excessively high.

Is your neck shimmed? If so, take the shims out.

You may also want/need to lower those pickups.

Where did you get your body and neck from?
    I'm wondering if maybe your neck pocket is too shallow.

Lamf77 likes this.

3. teletimetx

teletimetx Poster Extraordinaire Gold Supporter

Jul 25, 2011
    Houston, TX