Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups darrenriley.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Musicmaster Bass amp with 15" speaker?

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by happpychef, Dec 29, 2017.

1. happpychef

happpychef TDPRI Member

Dec 29, 2017
    Australia
    I have a Musicmaster Bass amp (later version with 6v6s) which I almost love. Great breakup and I like the tone. But it's not quite full enough - I generally play in a band with it on 10 and I dig the sound but just wish it was a bit bigger. I'm planning on doing the couple of little mods I've read about here, but has anyone ever put a 15" speaker in one of these little amps? I'm pretty sure it would fit with a new baffle. Let me know what you reckon! Thanks!

2. Wally

Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

Mar 17, 2003
    Lubbock, TX
    Welcome, and.....the diameter of the speaker has nothing to do with the efficiency or tonality of a speaker, ime.
    A high efficiency speaker might well double your apparent volume compared to what the ampmis giving you now.
    What speaker is in the amp at the moment. If it is a 12” Oxford, it is likely to be one of the low efficiency Oxfords built from 1966 on. A speaker with an efficiency of 100db or higher will make that amp get up and give notice....as much as it can. An EV or any other high efficiency speaker is what you need, I am thinking. Eminence Gb128 or quite a few other Emi’s will be just as loud. A Weber 12f150 punches out.
    Has the amp been recapped? If not, start there....

3. Mike Eskimo

Mike Eskimo Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

Nov 9, 2008
    Detroit
    I've had three of those. First two sucked.

Last one had a green Tone Tubby, some circuit-tweaking, a bigger transformer, and a semi-enclosed back.