Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Reiland Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Reilander Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Reilander Pickups
Join TDPRI Today

Music reading advice

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by fakeocaster, Dec 2, 2012.

1. fakeocaster

fakeocaster Tele-Afflicted

Hi guys

being self taught my music reading abilities are limited to say the least. can anyone recommend a good method book to help me develop this?

Preferably one with a CD so that i ca confirm the what Im playing is rhythmically correct?
  2. hymiepab

hymiepab Tele-Meister

Jan 22, 2009
    Hartford CT
    William Leavitt's Berklee Guitar Method books are really good and I believe they come with recordings as well.
    I started reading relatively late in the game but caught on after a while.
    My advice is put aside a little time daily when you read only standard tab backup!
    Good luck, it will pay off!
  3. Chris S.

Chris S. Asst. Admin Staff Member

Mar 26, 2005
    Near TELE-Town (Wash. DC)
    Admin Post
    The best reading book I've seen is a Berklee book by Bill Leavitt, but it's called "Melodic Rhythms for Guitar," available through Amazon or Berklee Press. It uses a very well-designed set of exercises using specific rhythms, first with single notes, then with scale patterns, then with tunes using the same rhythmic figures you're working on. It will get you reading right from page one. Highly recommended. :cool:

The Modern Method for Guitar books are great also, but they're for overall guitar development, not specifically reading. Hope it helps, CS
  4. Forum Sponsor Sponsored posting

5. klasaine

klasaine Poster Extraordinaire

Nov 28, 2006
    NELA, Ca
    +1 to what Chris S. just mentioned.