Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Multi-Effects Units; T Rex Soulmate or ???

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by PastorJay, Jun 2, 2014.

1. PastorJay

PastorJay Tele-Holic

Apr 12, 2014
    California
    I'm looking for recommendations on an easy to use multi-effects unit (or maybe two).

For about 20 years I played mostly acoustic guitar and blues harp. About 10 years ago I started playing electric sometimes for worship. That's the only place except the house where I play my Tele or my Les Paul.

Our worship service typically includes some praise and worship songs, some old gospel songs, and old hymns that have been rocked up a little in one way or another.

I had been using a Digitech processor into a solid state amp. That worked well for the contemporary sounding praise and worship stuff, but the supposedly blues and clean Fender sounds didn't cut it for old gospel songs.

So I bought an Egnater Tweaker 40. It lets me easily go back and forth between a bluesy or R & B-ish sound for the old gospel (or older praise and worship) and a more modern rock sound that works for the newer praise and worship songs. And by flipping one switch on the amp it can go from sounding like a Fender to sounding at least sort of like a Marshall--a heavier rock sound. That part is great.

But it's got no reverb, delay is really important for some of the praise and worship songs, and I'd like to be able to add some dirt sometimes. I could also use some tremolo or vibe for some of the old gospel songs, and phaser, envelope filter or wah wah (maybe even a Leslie effect) would come in handy once in a while. I like chorus and love Flanger but probably wouldn't use them much.

I would love to go wild on pedals and build a great pedal board. But that seems like overkill given the uses I'd put it to.