Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups darrenriley.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Mojotone 5F1 Champ Grounding Poll

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by DavesPlanet, Nov 29, 2017.

1. DavesPlanet

DavesPlanet TDPRI Member

Oct 18, 2013
    Bangkok
    In Mojotone's documentation, a photo (A) shows eyelets 1&2 connected together then wired to ground, and eyelets 3&4 are connected together, then to ground.
    However, their layout picture (B), shows all 4 eyelets connected together then wired to ground.
    Please just vote for "A" or "B." I'm a complete beginner. I will do it one of these two ways. Though I've learned there are many other ways to possibly do it, I'm not interested in them at this point. I just want to decide on one way and finish this build in my lifetime. ;-) Thx.

4 eyelets.png

2. theprofessor

theprofessor Friend of Leo's

Aug 8, 2016
    Chattanooga, TN
    Hi Daves Planet. Sorry to be "that guy," but I really don't like some of Mojo's grounding stuff. I think it's easiest to do what I said back in your other thread when I said "do it like this." You certainly don't have to, but that's my opinion!

http://www.tdpri.com/threads/mojotone-5f1-champ-cap-grounding-for-dummies.784621/#post-8008093

This is @robrob's 5f1 layout that I was referring to.
    5F1_Layout_Robrob.png

And I know that a 5f2a is not a 5f1, but it's darn close. So if they're helpful, here are some pictures of my own 5f2a build and board. This is hardly the only way to do it, but it works well. There are a few things that would be different from a 5f1, but not many. Here's what I did:

BACK
    board_FINAL_back.JPG

I think it's best to see the front in place in the chassis. I'll comment on some things and maybe find a better, detailed picture as well.