Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

major cracks in lacquer

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by moose13, Sep 1, 2017.

1. moose13

moose13 Tele-Meister

Nov 30, 2015
    USA
    I let this guitar sit for 8 weeks or so now after spraying as i have not had time to work on it, today when i grabbed it i noticed major cracks in the finish. I did some minor wet sanding before but was careful not to flood it with water, everywhere there is a hole i have a big crack in the finish. First of all what did i do wrong? and second how do i fix it? Really bummed about this. Thanks

IMG_3401.jpg IMG_3402.jpg IMG_3403.jpg

2. old wrench

old wrench Tele-Meister

moose,
    I'm not a coatings expert by any stretch of the imagination, but if you'd explain your finish schedule and the materials used I'm sure it would help in figuring out what went wrong. Just being honest, that looks like some of my failed finish work where I either used incompatible finish products or I didn't allow sufficient drying or curing time between coats.

Best Regards,
    Geo.

moose13 likes this.

3. moose13

moose13 Tele-Meister

Nov 30, 2015
    USA
    So its been a while since i worked on it but from what i remember, sanded smooth added sanding sealer and lightly sanded, total of 8 or 9 coats of nitro from stewmac, drying a couple hours between and only 2 coats per day. Probably a week or so between coats. lightly wetsand once about half way through.

4. Journeyman22

Journeyman22 Tele-Meister

Dec 11, 2014
    Piute County, Utah