Learning Curve

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by sosay, Aug 19, 2016.

  1. guitarbuilder

    guitarbuilder Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    19,527
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario County
    I would buy the one or two bits you really need made from a decent manufacturer. You get what you pay for with stuff like that.
     
  2. sosay

    sosay Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    1,523
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Location:
    IRELAND
    haha i noticed that after,i was lying down and sleepy
     
  3. sosay

    sosay Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    1,523
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Location:
    IRELAND
    ok cheers,
     
  4. sosay

    sosay Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    1,523
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Location:
    IRELAND
    i'm gona come to a halt soon if i don't find my router and falstener bits,i got charged 30 euro from dhl when i ordered my rod, dirty robbing hooligans,just cut the fret blank to rough size to get a good measure where to start my truss rod rout,
     
  5. sosay

    sosay Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    1,523
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Location:
    IRELAND
    yeh i do want to do this,i'll have another look cheers
     
  6. sosay

    sosay Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    1,523
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Location:
    IRELAND
    The round over,i believe that fender used 1/8" round over bit in the 50's and 1/4" or 3/16 bit in the 60's? is this true, i'm thinking of using a 1/4".
     
  7. NotAnotherHobby

    NotAnotherHobby Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,594
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Location:
    Da' Magic Mittin'
    I have a set of Ryobi forstner bits I got at Home Depot. I use then for everything and have no complaints.
     
    sosay likes this.
  8. sosay

    sosay Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    1,523
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Location:
    IRELAND
    and what do you use for the round over?
     
  9. NotAnotherHobby

    NotAnotherHobby Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,594
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Location:
    Da' Magic Mittin'
    I bought a 1/8" roundover bit on Amazon.com. Amana I believe.

    I also have a few other round-overs that I've accumulated from router bit sets that relatives have me over the years. But I prefer the 1/8". I like the sharper edges. Looks cleaner to me.
     
  10. sosay

    sosay Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    1,523
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Location:
    IRELAND
    ok cheers,i will have a look online
     
  11. Mat UK

    Mat UK Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    1,637
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    Hey Sosay,

    I've bought my router and forstner bits from these two places:

    Axminister tools
    http://www.axminster.co.uk/accessories/power-tool-accessories/routing/router-cutters

    and

    Wealden Tools
    http://www.wealdentool.com/

    I bought this round over bit http://www.axminster.co.uk/axcaliber-ovolo-roundover-cutters-ax807115

    Both companies are of solid quality - Wealden is particularly good for rarer sizes/cut profiles.

    Delivery's not too bad to Ireland £3-4

    Also, if I were you - because I almost did the same thing, I would hold off from buying a cheap drill press and wait to get something a bit more robust/larger. You'll need a certain size throat to drill the ferule's (which is the main thing I wanted the accuracy for), I don't think the press you linked to is deep enough.

    And I bought a cheap set of Forstner bits too and junked them after one use - not worth it.
    Like Guitarbuilder said, buy specific sizes as and when you need them, sets are only economical if they are of good quality and you use all of them...
     
    sosay likes this.
  12. sosay

    sosay Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    1,523
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Location:
    IRELAND
    ok thanks buddy,
     
  13. sosay

    sosay Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    1,523
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Location:
    IRELAND
    how do you get radius beam scratches of pearloid inlays?? some are fine,thinking water and very fine sand paper then just cloth?
     
  14. budgetbuild

    budgetbuild Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    279
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Location:
    virginia
    Just work through the grits. What grit did you use to radius the board?
     
  15. sosay

    sosay Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    1,523
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Location:
    IRELAND
    it was a medium grit,the toughest one i had,i will try the milder one and see
     
  16. guitarbuilder

    guitarbuilder Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    19,527
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario County
    The finer you go, the smaller the scratches you sand into the material. That's how they work...:)
     
  17. sosay

    sosay Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    1,523
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Location:
    IRELAND
    [​IMG]
     
  18. sosay

    sosay Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    1,523
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Location:
    IRELAND
    [​IMG]
     
  19. sosay

    sosay Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    1,523
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Location:
    IRELAND
    does anyone know what timber this is?thanks
     
  20. RickyRicardo

    RickyRicardo Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,966
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Walnut? Not sure..
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.