Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Join TDPRI Today

Kia Ora from New Zealand - Another old guy back playing!

Discussion in 'Welcome Wagon' started by Macrogats, Aug 12, 2017 at 1:41 AM.

1. Macrogats

Macrogats Tele-Meister

May 15, 2017
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Hello there to all from the farthest south of the world! I've been lurking around TDPRI since late last year, when I got interested in building a guitar, and most of my research led me here. Funny that. :D

I officially joined up in May, and have been posting odd comments and asking questions in the Home Depot threads, so thought it about high time I got around to telling my story.

I started playing guitar back when I was about 12, but just couldn't seem to come to grips with it. Besides, I was being taught folk music, and I wanted to play Led Zeppelin! Go figure! :rolleyes:

After learning the basics I thought the bass guitar would be an easier thing to learn, so started plunking on an old one my father had. He was a part time musician heavily into Country music and had a band on and off with his brother and some other guys. They even got to record and release an album - which is something I never got to officially do. :cry:

Anyway, so life moves on, leave school, get a job and with the advent of earning regular money, my interest shifted more towards girls and booze, so the old bass (and my acoustic) sat and gathered dust.

Both instruments were left behind when I left home to seek my fortune in different avenues, but around mid 1986 I had a revelation and decided I was gonna take the plunge and become a "real" musician. So I got a cheap bass and amp (can't even remember what they were) and started learning and practising in earnest before looking into starting a band.