Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups darrenriley.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Katana owners warranty issue "sneaky amps"

Discussion in 'Modeling Amps, Plugins and Apps' started by markfowler54, Jan 11, 2019.

1. markfowler54

markfowler54 TDPRI Member

Dec 29, 2018
    New Orleans LA 70119
    FYI - I have read here and on TGP via Boss employees that "sneaky amps" were accessed via a software hack and downloading them will void your Boss warranty. Worth checking into IMHO.

2. fender4life

fender4life Friend of Leo's

Sep 18, 2011
    los angeles
    I don't think they could legally void it for that. You paid for it and it's yours to do with what u want, EXCEPTING of course something that could cause damage which they could then legally void it. I'm not a lawyer but common sense would seem to indicate that to me. There are many things that manufacturers cannot void your warranty for that would be far more likely to cause issues. I believe vehicle manufacturers can't even void your warranty if you decide to do your own maintenance which i would see as far more likely to be a problem for manufacturers.

I suppose boss could say u pirated some digital data but unless they make owners aware of this i doubt it would hold up in court because it's not obvious to the owner like pirating a software all or movie etc. In any case my guess would be they couldn't legally void your warranty for this. Maybe they could nail u for piracy, but that's pretty unrealistic. Besides, if you needed warranty work chances are that if you do a full factory reset they'd never know.

JL_LI likes this.
  3. Jupiter

Jupiter Telefied Silver Supporter

Jun 22, 2010
    Osaka, Japan
    so...what's a sneaky amp?

Alamo and Teleterr like this.
  4. DougM

DougM Friend of Leo's

Jul 5, 2017