Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reiland Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Join TDPRI Today

Is hybrid picking possible without nails?

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by ADinNYC, Jan 16, 2013.

1. ADinNYC

ADinNYC Friend of Leo's

Can you still dig in and get a chicken pickin' pop.

I recently started playing bass and really want to use a proper two-finger technique but I can't because I grow my nails for hybrid picking on the guitar.

2. Frodebro

Frodebro Doctor of Teleocity

I keep my nails trimmed and have no problem with it, though I tend to "snap" the strings rather than "pluck" them. In that regard, I have found that if I don't keep them trimmed they tend to snag on the strings.

3. guitar dan

guitar dan Tele-Afflicted

Exactly. Me too.

4. Forum Sponsor Sponsored posting

5. Bongocaster

Bongocaster Friend of Leo's

I don't use a pick and am constantly fooling with the length of mine trying to find that spot where I can use my nails but not break them all of the time doing other things. You might be surprised at how short they can be and still be usable.

Now that's with hardly ever picking with just my nails but with nail and finger, and then the shorter they are the easier it is to grab just the flesh when you want to get that sound. Now if you are trying to do the Johnny Hiland thing...

So you might find a length that allows you to do hybrid on your guitar and still use them on your bass.

6. boneyguy

boneyguy Doctor of Teleocity

Yup. I used to spend way to much time babying my nails like I was a concert classical guitarist or a Jersey Shore girl. Eventually, like Bongocaster, it became evident that my nail length didn't need so much fussing in order to be of a useful length.