Info please on 2006 Classic Series 50s Telecaster

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by warmachine, Mar 21, 2019.

1. warmachine

warmachine TDPRI Member

I have little knowledge about the Classic Series 50’s Telecaster and if I understand correctly it’s considered more of a nod to the past, instead of a Reissue model. I might check out a 2006 sunburst Made in Mexico.

I understand this one has Cts pots, no vintage cloth wiring and according to the catalog link below on page 74 it lists Alnico pickups, Ash body, vintage style bridge. However no mention if poly or nitro neck or body.

Anyone give me any more insight on how this guitar stacks up against a reissue Telecaster?

Are the stock pickups worthy or are more preferable upgrades you’d suggest? I’d like something to hit the classic Tele twang, but be useful with overdrive as well.

https://issuu.com/fender/docs/frontline_2006

Last edited: Mar 21, 2019
  2. mimmo

mimmo Friend of Leo's

Classic series - both 50s and 60s - are highly regarded here and some very knowledgeable guy will surely chime in.

what I can tell you is that these guitars are rather inspired by, not exact reissues. So the 50s has the "wrong" screws for exemple and the steel saddles of the mid- and late- decade. But it has the 7.25 radius with small frets for an authentic feel.
    Of course you can upgrade the pick ups but I highly recommend you to give them some time and see if they grow on you. Again they are "wrong" pick ups, no base plate etc. so they souldn't work. But they actually do.

FWIW I really love my classic 60s and will never part with it.

t guitar floyd likes this.
  3. LKB3rd

LKB3rd Friend of Leo's

I think it was in 2013 that they started the lacquer version, in 2006 they were all poly.
    I have a poly 50's Esquire and one of the newer lacquer 50's Tele's and I like them both a lot.