Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Ill advised Champ 600 project

Discussion in 'Glowing Bottle Tube Amp Forum' started by Prophetsnake, Jul 15, 2017.

1. Prophetsnake

Prophetsnake Tele-Meister

Aug 2, 2016
    ireland
    Hi all,
    New here and this is my first post in anger. I'll state up front that I am new to this and my understanding of how these contraptions work is on the rudimentary side. I would realy appreciate a little advice if anyone feels up to it!
    I bought one of those Chinese Champ 600 PC innards on eBay - cheap - and have been attempting to make it into a playable contraption.
    I ditched the stock PT because it was 120V and I need a 240 V unit. I have attempted to replace it with one of these:

http://www.antekinc.com/content/AS-1T275.pdf

- A dual-voltage (240/120 toroidal transformer. I replaced the original 1 amp fuse with a .5 amp item, before I forget to mention it.
    I believe I have wired the transformer correctly. The primary is wired in series, (black 1 to red 2) and continuity checks out. The secondaries exceed the amp's requirement by a good margin, so I have used only one winding of each and secured the other wires out of the way, their circuits open. The purple static shield is earthed to the chassis.
    The chassis is earthed to the mains.
    The chassis is mild steel - homemade.
    All input and output jacks check for continuity to the earth pin on the plug.
    I've also replaced the cheap and nasty LED pilot with a jewel unit.

Right. Now when I powered it up, I got nothing. No noises, no hum. I checked the power at the switch, and nothing. The 3A fuse in the plug was gone.