Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reiland Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Join TDPRI Today

Identify me a tele, giant noob ahead

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by A-Crazy-Finish, Jan 2, 2013.

1. A-Crazy-Finish

A-Crazy-Finish NEW MEMBER!

Jan 2, 2013
    Scotland
    Hello all! Giant noob here looking for an electric and I've decided it should be a tele.
    I play a lot of genres, blues, country, rock etc but have a main emphasis on rock, some heavier stuff although I've heard with the right setup you can play heavy rock or metal(any truth to this?)

I love the rock tone of this tele in particular:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lhuh6pAEHPI&list=FLY4EtsOK30Gn4ZmY6m0A7sQ&index=2
    Any ID on this guitar? I know with the footage that it might be hard to tell, theres more videos with this guitar on the channel.

If not, any tele recommendations based on my preferences and the guitar in the video?
    Budget is around £500

2. czgibson

czgibson Tele-Afflicted

Jan 3, 2012
    UK
    It looks like a 'Crafted In Japan' 62 Custom Tele, or possibly an American Vintage 62 Custom Tele. They normally come with a white pickguard, so I would think the black one in the clip has been added later.

For a budget of around £500, you could either look for the Japanese model used, or maybe get yourself a Baja:

[​IMG]

Or a Blacktop Tele HH might suit you if you want to use humbuckers for heavier sounds:

[​IMG]

3. unccivil

unccivil Tele-Meister

Aug 5, 2010
    Charlotte, NC