Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

how hard is playing a pedal steel in reality?

Discussion in 'Other Guitars, other instruments' started by eddiewagner, May 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. eddiewagner

eddiewagner Poster Extraordinaire

Nov 6, 2005
    ROCK!linghausen/germany
    since some pedal steel student model are going down in price i wonder if i could ever get something out of a real steelguitar. i play lapsteel but i am not a real profound music-theorist. from what my feeling tells me, i have no real chance. what do you guys think? how tricky is this instrument?

2. Dookychase

Dookychase Tele-Meister

May 16, 2005
    Near New Orleans
    I have a pedal steel that I bought years ago and never played it. Its a Fender 10 string, 3 pedals and 1 knee lever.
    This young boy had it and never learned to play it, so I bought it for 100.00 dollars with a hard case. I couldn't pass up a great deal. It was a steal(hahahaha).

The hardest thing I find about it is to pick block with the right hand.
    If you're really interested in one, buy a couple of tapes to see how it works. Tim McCasland and Bruce Bouton has a couple of good vhs tapes out. Also, Jeff Newman has a series of dvd's that are good. YOu can find his stuff at www.jeffran.com

Also, check out www.steelguitarforum.com

Good luck

3. endzone

endzone Friend of Leo's

Jan 2, 2006
    Louisiana