Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups darrenriley.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

How do you bail on a band?

Discussion in 'Band Wagon' started by swampyankee, Mar 27, 2018.

1. swampyankee

swampyankee Tele-Holic Silver Supporter

Feb 5, 2015
    Southeastern MA
    I've been playing with this band for going on 3 years. It's been a hobby for me and everyone originally agreed to play out no more than once or twice a month. But that was before we were even playing out, and since then my bandmates have gotten a taste for what little money we make. The rest of the guys are retired and now see the band as a source of income. I could care less since I work full time at a decent job, as well as a parttime job and a house to restore. I just can't play out as much as the rest of the guys want to, but I feel guilty telling them I can't play every gig they book.
    At this point, we've brought in a keyboard player and as the second guitarist and backup vocalist, I see the addition of the keyboard play as my opportunity to bail without leaving the guys high and dry.

My bandmates are somewhat of a crotchety bunch, which makes it even less temping to stick with it. We have gigs booked through July at this point, with more coming in. I'm thinking of staying with it to make sure the keyboardist sticks with them, play the gigs in April, and make my farewells then.
    No matter what, I'll probably catch alot of slack so I don't relish the idea of telling them. But what's the best way to give notice?

INFANT likes this.

2. schmee

schmee Tele-Afflicted

Jun 2, 2003
    northwest
    just say it. too much time involved for you.
    It's terribly difficult booking bands and takes a ton of time, especially if members have a lot of excuses why to play or not play.