Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups darrenriley.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

How do u memorise songs?

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by yazam2014, May 15, 2018.

1. yazam2014

yazam2014 Tele-Meister

Apr 15, 2014
    malaysia
    Hi
    I always got problem when it came to memorise songs.
    When i got gigs, i cant even memorise 10 songs in a week. I alway bring paper with songs structures n chords. Yes, always songs that i never heard before.

Any tips for memorise songs?

Btw i like to watch the voice. And i cant imagine how the musician memorizing the 20-30 songs in less then a-week

El Tele Lobo and sjruvolo like this.

2. Paul Jenkin

Paul Jenkin Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter

Aug 17, 2017
    Essex, UK
    I'm just learning and I suspect that I have the same problem. All I can do is write down the tablature and repeat and repeat until it sticks (and that's just the chords, 'cos singing and playing is way beyond me).

I suppose it's just a case of practice makes perfect.

3. Pineears

Pineears Tele-Holic

Jun 25, 2016
    Texas
    I use an iPad with the lyrics and chords on it.

4. Rustbucket

Rustbucket Friend of Leo's

Mar 28, 2016
    Arizona
    I use old fashioned book with lyrics and chords, though I try not to use it too much when playing out.

5. MisterZ

MisterZ Tele-Meister

Apr 29, 2016
    Finger Lakes of NYS
    Sheer repetition has always done it for me.

6. Rockerfeller

Rockerfeller Tele-Meister

Feb 14, 2014
    Denver, co