Help with Pedal Tone and Volume Settings Please

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by Slim Chance, Apr 15, 2019 at 2:12 PM.

1. Slim Chance

Slim Chance Tele-Holic

I am fairly new to the world of pedals and would like some tips on setting the parameters where there are similar controls for tone and volume. My current pedal board from guitar to amp consists of a Keeley Compressor Plus, EHx East River Drive OD, a Machine Head 72 Degree OD, and a Caitlinbread Topanga reverb. For now, the Machine Head is being used as a boost only option with the EHx supplying OD. The Keeley is the newest and I'm still experimenting and learning what it can do. I play mostly at home through blackface amps (Vibro Champ & Vibrolux Reverb). Music is primarily blues and 50s-70s rock.

All four pedals have both tone and volume controls and I'm not quite sure where to set them. I'm especially unsure about the tone controls. Is there a neutral position.

I apologize for a somewhat unarticulated description and appreciate any advice that may help me to get the most from the pedals.

2. Mark the Moose

Mark the Moose Tele-Meister

Every pedal has it's own quirks and interacts with the guitar and amp in some unique ways. I might start with all knobs at 12:00, then see what happens as you turn each up and down on it's own, or in pairs.

3. Paul in Colorado

Paul in Colorado Telefied Ad Free Member

double post. Disregard.

4. Paul in Colorado

Paul in Colorado Telefied Ad Free Member

For Volume, find the spot where the level is the same when the pedal is on or off. Then adjust it so it sounds how ever loud you want it to be when it's on vs. off. As for Tone, do you want it to sound brighter or darker? Adjust each pedal one at a time and then in combinations. Take your time.

JustABluesGuy likes this.
  5. 1300 E Valencia

1300 E Valencia Tele-Afflicted

If I assume you bought all four pedals at the sane time, then you have four pedals in front of you with four volume controls to deal with.