Help with new '62 Princeton Reissue rattle noise.

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by ladave, Jun 9, 2019.

  1. ladave

    ladave Tele-Holic

    Age:
    55
    Posts:
    633
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    My new '62 Princeton Chris Stapleton Edition is making a noise. This was sold as new on Reverb but I'm pretty sure it was a store display due to the price sticker on it. It did however look new and including everything except the original box.

    Please listen to my video and let me know if you have any ideas. Thanks!



    It mostly only happens at one frequency.
    When it's making it, it is consistent.
    I move the amp it might go away and then show up again later.
    I took the back off to see if the tubes were tight. One of the small tubes was slightly easier to move around than the other.
    Also looked for loose screws.
    I also did consider that something else nearby is rattling and that does not appear to be the cause.
     
  2. hamerfan

    hamerfan TDPRI Member

    Age:
    57
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    Location:
    Germany, Bavaria
    Tube rattling? Get a second person with oven gloves who seize the tubes. If the noize stops, you got it. Then look for tube silencer / high temperature silicone rings on fleabay.
     
    ladave likes this.
  3. dan40

    dan40 Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Location:
    Richmond Va
    It's likely that one of the tubes got damaged during shipping. V1 is the first suspect. Try replacing v1 with another good tube and see if that helps. Try the other preamp positions if v1 does not work. Power tubes can also go microphonic but I would start at the preamp first.
     
    ladave likes this.
  4. ladave

    ladave Tele-Holic

    Age:
    55
    Posts:
    633
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Thank you hamerfan & dan40!

    I looped the offending note and tracked it down to one of the tubes. When I touch with screwdriver it goes away.

    It's one of the 6V6's.
     
    theprofessor and dan40 like this.
  5. flyswatter

    flyswatter Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,306
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    Quebec
    Besides the 6V6 itself, it could be rattle coming from a loose rivet or screw (whichever was used) on the tube socket. The fact that the rattle appears at certain frequency means that some part of the amp is vibrating at its resonant frequency. If it's the resonant frequency of the chassis, for instance, anything loose will rattle right along with it.
     
    dan40 and ladave like this.
  6. dan40

    dan40 Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Location:
    Richmond Va
    If a new tube does not fix the issue, I would not open the amp because it may affect your warranty. Replacing a power tube will not void the warranty but you will need to replace it with a tube of matching idle current. If not you may end up with a tube that does not match the good one. The other option is a brand new matching pair and have them properly biased. You may want to contact the company you purchased it from and they may be able to send you a replacement tube of matching idle current.
     
    flyswatter likes this.
  7. fasteddie42

    fasteddie42 Tele-Holic

    Age:
    29
    Posts:
    601
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Location:
    Tip of the Mitt
    Uhhhh

    You should probably use a pencil or a chop stick for the I'm pokey poke stuff.
     
  8. ladave

    ladave Tele-Holic

    Age:
    55
    Posts:
    633
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Thanks Dan that's helpful information!

    Thanks Eddie, yes not very smart looking back.

    --

    After realizing it was the tube I waited for it to cool off and it seemed like it was not 100% in the socket...I was able to push it up a little. I'm hopeful because I played for about an hour last night and didn't hear anything.

    Also I probably should have researched a little more before posting, I had no idea this was an issue on combo amps.
     
    theprofessor likes this.
  9. Hatfield92

    Hatfield92 Tele-Meister

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    319
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Location:
    Largo, Florida, USA
    It appears you’ve got the problem solved. Congrats. How are you enjoying it otherwise?
     
  10. dan40

    dan40 Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Location:
    Richmond Va
    Microphonics can be an issue in combos, but thousands of them have been used on stages and bedrooms for many years without much of a problem. Hopefully you got yours sorted out and you will be good to go for many years.
     
  11. jimgchord

    jimgchord Tele-Holic

    Age:
    46
    Posts:
    964
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Location:
    victor,ny
    Careful with that pencil, graphite is a conductor.
     
  12. fasteddie42

    fasteddie42 Tele-Holic

    Age:
    29
    Posts:
    601
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Location:
    Tip of the Mitt

    My bad.

    Lets just go with chop sticks across the board.
     
    jimgchord likes this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.