Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Help with a pickup

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by 1bad914, Sep 21, 2017.

1. 1bad914

1bad914 Tele-Meister

Nov 10, 2016
    Michigan
    I decided to rewire my electronics, part of this was new wires to the pickups. Mr. Smart guy here unsoldered the wires from the pickup, the copper wires broke, now I can’t figure out what to solder to. Yes, I am a newb to pickups. Do I just grab two wires and solder the lead and ground to them or do I have to have the two ends?? I think this thing is toast. It is a cheap pup.

2. jvin248

jvin248 Friend of Leo's

Apr 18, 2014
    Near Detroit, MI

Post some pictures of the pickup and wires.

You'll need the two bobbin wires, the outer end won't matter if it broke, you can unwind a few wraps and get it. If the inner loop was broke off where you can't reach it then it's toast or cut the wire off and wind new wire on it.

If you just broke the lead wires off and the bobbin wires are ok then you just need to resolder.

3. Zepfan

Zepfan Friend of Leo's

Nov 30, 2013
    Horn Lake, MS
    I fixed a broken wire on the inner lead once. It is very hard to do because the wire is very easy to break. If it is a cheap pickup, then a new one won't cost much to replace.

4. 1bad914

1bad914 Tele-Meister

Nov 10, 2016
    Michigan
    I think it is toast.

5. Ronkirn

Ronkirn Doctor of Teleocity Vendor Member

May 1, 2003
    Jacksonville, FL
    yeah unless you're "good" fixing that can be more difficult than convincing a Cop the bag full of Meth in your pocket was something you just found....and you has no idea it was yucky drugs,, :p

Good hi resolution photos are necessary for us to analyze the potential for repair..

rk

6. 1bad914

1bad914 Tele-Meister

Nov 10, 2016
    Michigan
    IMG_4756.JPG
    IMG_4755.JPG