Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Hello from Denmark (country tele player)

Discussion in 'Welcome Wagon' started by pvh1987, Oct 9, 2017.

1. pvh1987

pvh1987 TDPRI Member

Oct 9, 2017
    Denmark
    Hello TDPRI members. I just signed up today :)

I'm an electronics engineer from Denmark. I recently took up guitar playing again after a pause of more than 10 years. For some reason I got more interested in listening to music rather than playing it myself. Here is my guitar playing story and how I eventually got myself a Telecaster. I know this turned into kind of a long read so I decided to sweeten it up with some pictures I took earlier today :)

I started playing a scaled down acoustic guitar when I was about 7 years old (as far as I remember) and got my first electric guitar when I was about 10 years old. This was a cheap Stratocaster copy and a small solid-state amplifier, but very nice christmas present indeed. During that time I played in a band in school with a few of my classmates. In my teenage years I got into hard rock (mostly Van Halen and AC/DC) and got myself an Ibanez RG370DX (locking tremolo, very thin and "fast" neck) and a Fender Hot Rod Deluxe amplifier. And quite a few effect pedals as well.

Looking back it is clear that I used a lot more time on playing around with various pedals rather than actually improving my playing. Never really played lead or rhythm... just kind of disconnected riffs with a lot of effects. Eventually I got bored with it and lended out most of my gear to a friend.