Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Handling/Scraping Binding with a Metallic Finish

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by cbrewer9, Dec 4, 2017.

1. cbrewer9

cbrewer9 TDPRI Member

Jan 26, 2011
    Dallas, TX
    Howdy TDPRI'ers!

I'm currently in the finishing process of a double bound tele in Reranch Ocean Turquoise. I'm not a first time builder or finisher, but this is my first time working with both binding AND a metallic finish.

So I didn't mask off the binding this time because "you have to scrape it anyways" :rolleyes: but I realized something... metallic finishes might be more delicate than a standard finish. Supposedly the best time to scrape is when the finish is still soft, but I am worried about handling the body while I do the scraping. I even built myself one of those fancy binding scraper tools (dowel rod with a razor blade), but now I'm worried about the dowel rod fouling up the metal flake in the finish.

Does anyone have an insight on this?

Thanks in advance.

2. Buckocaster51

Buckocaster51 Super Moderator Staff Member Ad Free Member

Jan 6, 2005
    Iowa USA
    Admin Post
    wear cotton or latex gloves

wear a shirt with no buttons/zippers

you should be fine

BorderRadio likes this.

3. philosofriend

philosofriend Tele-Holic

Oct 28, 2015
    Kalamazoo
    Stare at it while you are working, be prepared to think fast. I have become used to my stereo magnifying lenses with the headband. They make me look funny and old, but I sure can see the thing I'm afraid of messing up.

BorderRadio likes this.

4. cbrewer9

cbrewer9 TDPRI Member

Jan 26, 2011
    Dallas, TX
    I got to thinking that this finish is fairly similar in nature to a goldtop finish, so I read a few hundred threads about that. :cool: