Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups darrenriley.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Guitar Rookie Trying Out a Yamaha Pacifica PAC120S

Discussion in 'Other T-Types and Partscasters' started by GeekPriest, Feb 9, 2018.

1. GeekPriest

GeekPriest TDPRI Member

Feb 9, 2018
    Central Texas
    Hi. I'm a total guitar rookie. After getting frustrated with a Strat-style guitar given to me, I started looking around for something to help me move along. (The Strat was being a bear to get strings down to the fretboard, and perennial issues with tuning.)

I ran across this Yamaha Telecaster-like guitar, the PAC120S, at a local pawn shop. Good shape overall: bit of surface rust on the pickup poles, couple of scratches on the back, small dent at the bottom edge near the strap button, and a cracked jack plate. We settled on $100, plus $5 for a 15-day return privilege.

I've restrung it with extra light D'Addario strings, and overall, I've fallen in love. I'm not wrestling with the tuning. Plus, the frets don't cut into my hand. I don't know if they came from Yamaha that way or the previous owner worked them over, but the frets don't bite at all.

There are two problems I still see, and I'd like to resolve them during my 15-day return period.
    One, there's a bit of buzz on the low E up at the first fret. I've backed the truss rod off about half a turn, with some improvement, but want to know if there's anything more I should know about this. Or, perhaps I'll have to fork over $$ to a real tech. (I'm pretty handy overall, though.)

Second, the tuners seems a bit easy to turn. It simplifies fine tuning (so little pressure required), but I'm worried they allow the guitar to go out of tune too easily. Thoughts? Recommended replacements priced in line with what I paid for the guitar?