Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Grounding question - new member

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by DanH8482, Sep 7, 2017.

1. DanH8482

DanH8482 TDPRI Member

Sep 7, 2017
    Connecticut
    Hi Everyone,

I'm a brand new member as I got my first ever Tele yesterday. Its a MIM Deluxe Thinline. I've been after a Tele for a bit now and couldn't pass up the deal I got. It sounds great and hopefully it will keep the urge to buy a much more expensive at bay.

Anyway, on the question. While playing it at rehearsal last night, I had an intermittent grounding issue, really loud buzzing that would come and go throughout the night, and would disappear immediately if I touched any thing metal.

So, I'm not very good with technical things, but I'm assuming there's a grounding wire that's loose and is coming in and out of contact somewhere. Does this seem like something I could open up the guitar and find easily? I normally go to a tech for things like this, but I really want to do it quickly at home so I can get it out to a gig sooner than later.

Thanks!

2. BorderRadio

BorderRadio Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

Apr 2, 2014
    Phoenix, AZ
    Welcome!

Yep, you have a loose wire, bad solder joint, poor connection of some kind. Is a continuity tester available? That will make hunting down the bad ground much easier.

3. DanH8482

DanH8482 TDPRI Member

Sep 7, 2017
    Connecticut
    Thanks!

Don't have one, but could easily go out and grab one, seems like a good thing to have around. Either way, I'm not sure I'd know what to do with it. I think I'll head over to YouTube and look for some grounding tutorials maybe.

BorderRadio likes this.

4. jvin248

jvin248 Friend of Leo's

Apr 18, 2014
    Near Detroit, MI

Start at the jack and work your way up the wiring.