Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Got the Hamer bug...any aficionados to educate me?

Discussion in 'Other Guitars, other instruments' started by Ian T, Dec 1, 2016.

1. Ian T

Ian T Tele-Meister

Jan 11, 2013
    Tampa Bay
    I am helpless to my GAS addiction.

It has turned to the acquisition of a USA Hamer (classic LP Junior style). Resistance is futile. I must purchase one within the next month or so.

I've done a little research though remain a total noob. It seems like the company was sold a couple of times, and production was done at a few different places. I also gather at sometime in the mid 90s the necks seem to have gotten fatter (me likes).

I'm looking for some information on what era of Hamer would seem to be the most desirable, from a long term investment vantage point, as well as quality standpoint.

Any Hamer lovers that can give me the inside scoop on how to pick a winner?

Cheers and thanks in advance!

2. Dismalhead

Dismalhead Poster Extraordinaire

Feb 16, 2014
    Auburn, California
    I had a '94 USA Hamer Special. It was a wonderful guitar. Seymour Duncan P90s. I'm thinking I'm gonna save up and get another. Only guitar I've gotten rid of that I really miss.

[​IMG]

3. Ian T

Ian T Tele-Meister

Jan 11, 2013
    Tampa Bay
    Yeah man the p90 ones, as well as the mini-humbucker ones are sweet! This could be trouble...

jimash likes this.

4. Dismalhead

Dismalhead Poster Extraordinaire

Feb 16, 2014
    Auburn, California
    All the '80s and '90s Hamers can be had for relatively decent prices, probably because whoever bought them turned the brand to crap in the '00s. I know the Specials go for around $700 used. I've seen the Artists, which were Hamer's equivalent of a Les Paul, going for around $1000. I'd rather have a killer US Hamer Artist than a '90s Les Paul.

Mr. Lumbergh likes this.