Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reiland Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Join TDPRI Today

Good Cheap Fuzz?

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by BeatlesAreMyJam, Feb 24, 2011.

1. BeatlesAreMyJam

BeatlesAreMyJam Tele-Holic

Any recommendations for a good, affordable fuzz pedal? I'd like to spend under $100, preferably more like $50 (new or used). I don't have a particular sound in mind. I'm new to fuzz and I'm just experimenting, so I'm looking for something that people think sounds good and is a good value. Thanks.

2. RocknDrTom

RocknDrTom Tele-Holic

3. Kmld89

Kmld89 Tele-Meister

Are you into pedal modding at all? For $80 (new) you can get an ehx big muff and for about $10 in parts you can turn it into an incredible little box. That would be my recommendation. If pedal mods aren't your thing, I've "read" (never used one myself) great things about the Way Huge Swollen Pickle (a modified muff circuit). They are out of your price range new, but a used one can be found for under $100. Another one of my favorites is the Dunlop Dallas Arbiter Fuzzface. Dunlop has made many variations of the fuzzface and it's no secret that most of them aren't that great. The model I'm talking about has JHF-1 on the pcb and they are mostly handwired. An easy way to tell them apart is that they say "Dallas Arbiter" on the black stomp pad instead of "Dunlop". The prices on these are starting to creep up, but you can occasionally find one on the 'bay for a decent price. If your interested in the mods for a BM, I can give you a fantastic website with tons of easy mods.

4. Forum Sponsor Sponsored posting

5. BucksStudent

BucksStudent Banned