Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Give me a Boost...

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by fernandes_tele, Sep 16, 2017.

1. fernandes_tele

fernandes_tele NEW MEMBER!

Aug 7, 2017
    California
    So, I'm fairly new to the wonderful world of pedals, and while I tend to subscribe to the Dave Pirner philosophy of pedals ("I have one stomp box and sometimes that's too much"), I'm doing more solo work and am using them to shape my sound. I play my late-'90s Fernandes Tele copy through a '90s Fender Blues Deluxe, and my pedal chain right now has an MXR '78 Custom Badass Distortion and my overdrive fluctuates between a Danelectro Cool Cat CO-1 Drive and a Boss BD-2. I tend to use the Drive pedal for a basic crunchy tone and if I need to get more gritty, I pump on the '78. I'm looking to keep my board fairly simple (I'm thinking like 5 pedals, max), and am wondering what the best way to get a clean boost would be.

I have a few ideas: do I want to grab a Soul Preacher (EHX comp/sustain) and set it to a point where it just kicks me up a notch for the solo? Should I switch to using the '78 for crunch and the 'Driver for a boost? Should I TC Spark it? Suggestions?

2. wrathfuldeity

wrathfuldeity Tele-Holic

Apr 25, 2011
    Turdcaster, WA
    parametric eq...something like a vfe rocket....it will boost, and/or shape and also do other things....utility pedal. Or just use your git vol

3. DaveKS

DaveKS Friend of Leo's

Oct 21, 2013
    KS
    It's really hard beat a full size TC Spark for $$$, especially used, last in chain as true clean boost that you can add just hint of grit. Having it's eq shape switch and bass/treble is a essential part of boosting.