Fractal AXE-FX-III ~ thinking about these, anyone here using one?

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by DHart, Feb 20, 2019.

  1. DHart

    DHart Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,500
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ USA
    I'm at the point where I don't need amplifiers... all I need is a great preamp and efx, then into my studio monitors and/or Macintosh for recording.

    So... I've been kicking around the idea of Fractal AXE-FX-III. The accolades from top guitarists are thick and long.

    Anyone here using one of these rigs? What are your thoughts?
     
    24 track likes this.
  2. Frodebro

    Frodebro Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Age:
    49
    Posts:
    13,908
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Location:
    Seattle
    For what you're describing, the Fractal would be a very, very good choice.
     
    DHart likes this.
  3. 24 track

    24 track Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    12,405
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Location:
    kamloops bc
    really , Im not crying I got some thing in my eye!

    axe-fx-iii-1920-front-white.jpg III-rear-transparent-e1517268585239.png
     
    Newbcaster, 3-Chord-Genius and DHart like this.
  4. codamedia

    codamedia Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,212
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Western Canada
    Keep in mind the accolades from top guitarists for the AXE FX III hasn't been tested to the fullest yet since it's a new product, but I have no doubt they have another hit on their hands.

    Pros: Too long of a list... flexible and sounds great. What else can be said!
    Cons: Expensive & rack only at this time so a controller may be needed and will drive up the price further. Irrelevant if you plan on racking it and don't have any interest in a floor model which is inevitable.

    The III looks like Fractal finally created a friendlier UI on the device... something it sorely lacked on the FX II. Dare I say it... it looks like they borrowed a lot of ideas from the Helix in that regard.

    As with all modelers it's important to remember these boxes are just interfaces, the tone is in the software the runs on it!
     
    DHart likes this.
  5. GuitarPix

    GuitarPix Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    Actually




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. codamedia

    codamedia Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,212
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Western Canada
    That is not the AXE FX III in a floor unit... that is an older model. (more related to the AX FX II)
    The III is a brand new beast with more than double the processing power.
     
    DHart likes this.
  7. scout2112

    scout2112 Tele-Meister

    Age:
    52
    Posts:
    460
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    There's talk in the Fractal Audio forum that something like this is in the works. It'll most likely be a nerfed version with a lower pricetag. I'd wait for it personally, unless you can afford the FXIII.
     
    DHart likes this.
  8. stratwilly

    stratwilly Tele-Meister

    Age:
    49
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Location:
    germany
    I have some friends who are very happy with their AXE FXes. Some use it live and for recording, some just for recording, - great technology.

    But just one different thought:
    Have you considered or tried a pure modeling plug in for your MAC - I assume you are using Logic ?
    I sometimes use "sGear" for recording, - there is a free but time limited test version available
    https://www.scuffhamamps.com/product/s-gear
     
    dptele and DHart like this.
  9. teleman1

    teleman1 Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    617
    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Location:
    Arizona
    What does processing power give you over the 8????
     
    DHart likes this.
  10. scout2112

    scout2112 Tele-Meister

    Age:
    52
    Posts:
    460
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    It's quite a bit more powerful than the FXII, but I have a FXII and don't feel a need to upgrade. It's been a dream rig for me so far.
     
    DHart likes this.
  11. chris m.

    chris m. Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,033
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, California
    My bass player uses a floor model into an FRFR powered speaker. He's always in search of perfect tone, but I swear whatever rig he uses
    he still sounds like himself. If you want to have a really, really wide variety of sounds available at your fingertips then I think these kinds
    of rigs make sense. If you are happy with a single base sound that you modify with your guitar controls and a few pedals, then I think
    the traditional route of a tradtional guitar amp makes more sense.

    But if your studio work almost dictates that you get one of these rigs, then at that point it seems
    totally logical to see if you can make it also work in a live environment. No need to spend big $$ on both types of systems if you can get by with
    one. I'm sure there's lots of info available from users as to how to best create and/or modify patches so they sound good live. You typically
    have to tweak certain parameters (at least EQ) in order for a patch that sounds great into a DAW or headphones to also sound great coming out of a PA in
    a live venue.
     
    ce24 and DHart like this.
  12. DHart

    DHart Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,500
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ USA
    Tone is #1 for me. And, the friendlier interface is really important. If the interface gets too complicated, it's not worth it to me.
     
  13. DHart

    DHart Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,500
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ USA
    I don't need a floor version, since I'm not playing live and would just use it in my home studio. BUT, if the interface would be simpler and the cost lower - yet still offer a great range of excellent tones, perhaps I should wait for that.
     
  14. DHart

    DHart Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,500
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ USA
    I've been using GB on the Mac. I will go have a look at sGear.
     
  15. teleman1

    teleman1 Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    617
    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Location:
    Arizona
    GOD! I look at all of my boutique low watt amps and pedals in my office. This topic makes me tremble. If it has the tone and user convenience. HEY, here is a question. Do you get single coil hum through these devices? Kemper? Axe-efx?
     
  16. DHart

    DHart Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,500
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ USA
    For the price of a couple of bo-tique amps... :cool:

    Definitely not inexpensive... but depending on other factors, perhaps economical. Certainly space efficient. :D And incredible versatility.
     
  17. 24 track

    24 track Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    12,405
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Location:
    kamloops bc
    this one also gets me alittle steamy .......
    ( 16 H-9 Maxes in one box and fully expandable , sigh..... ) excuse me I have to leave now

    Feature-Image-H9000_0.jpg H9000-Rear.jpg
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2019
  18. codamedia

    codamedia Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,212
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Western Canada
    Longer future in software updates. You may not see any benefits right now, but none of us know what is coming in the future... whether it's more features, higher quality models, etc... etc... Processing power ALWAYS hits it wall at some point & the AXE FX III is "better" future proofed in that department compared to it's previous version.


    At $7,000 ($9,200 here in Canada) lets say it's just a tad out of my league ;)
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2019
  19. 24 track

    24 track Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    12,405
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Location:
    kamloops bc
    mine too , but jeez it would be fun to kick it around, and when I grow up and are rich im going to buy one (used ) i think!:lol::lol::lol:
     
    codamedia likes this.
  20. jrblue

    jrblue Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    928
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    I don't want to use a device that requires so much front-brain attention and thought. If I were a recording engineer or tech, sure, but I'm a musician and I don't want (or need) to work with this or any other gizmo that's all about configuration. I want to play, not fiddle with settings.
     
    ce24 and DHart like this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.