Forming a plan: Resonator Tele

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Itchyfeet1000, Apr 15, 2019.

1. Itchyfeet1000

Itchyfeet1000 Tele-Meister

I've been pondering on my next build using one of my spare spalted beech bodies. Always loved the look of resonators but I have no experience of them. I've found some Tele style resonators on YouTube and they sound pretty cool.

Does anybody here have any experience or advice about what would be needed?

2. philosofriend

philosofriend Tele-Holic

From what I saw on an internet search, you have a basic decision: Do you want to have a guitar with the maximum sound when played unplugged, or do you want to play loudly through an amp without feedback? For unplugged sound you want a large airspace behind the cone (or cones if you chose tri-cone style). That airspace is vented through a port (or ports) in the front of the body with the vent tuned like a speaker port to give the best sounding bass.

For a feedback resistant guitar you want a small airspace behind the cone and no vent. This style would probably give more sustain to the tone also, less energy is being sucked out into the air.

Stewmac sells parts for both styles of single cone resonators. There are probably other sources....

3. Freeman Keller

Freeman Keller Tele-Afflicted

I build and play resonator guitars and I build a few tele's. I have not combined them but there are some things to consider.

First, very importantly, how will you string and play it? Assuming that it is not to be a lap style guitar, you still have the choice of playing primarily fretted or primarily with a slide. Most of us will do a combination but you need to consider which will be the primary mode of playing. You'll also need to decide the string gauges and tensions you will be using.

If you will be playing primarily slide you probably will want a little more string tension than usual, and you may prefer a flatter neck.