Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reiland Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Join TDPRI Today

Fly fishing Lakes different?

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by uriah1, Jun 29, 2013.

1. uriah1

uriah1 Doctor of Teleocity

Feb 12, 2011
    Around
    Is fly fishing lakes different?

I am a super novice, but, I threw terrestrial patterns, and spiders
    and nothing.

Put on my spinning wheel with little beetle spin, and caught some gills
    and crappies.

Do you have to cast a fly...let it sit long time...

did I do anything wrong...maybe I just have gone wet with a bobber???

2. LKB3rd

LKB3rd Tele-Afflicted

Jan 10, 2013
    CT
    You can use the same flies as you use on a river, letting them sit or you can use streamers which imitate small baitfish and use it to cover more water by swimming it along.

3. Frodebro

Frodebro Doctor of Teleocity

Aug 17, 2012
    Seattle
    You'll want to probably forego the hip waders in favor of a boat...

4. Forum Sponsor Sponsored posting

5. imwjl

imwjl Poster Extraordinaire

Mar 21, 2007
    Wisconsin, USA
    A streamer should have worked if casting a spinner worked.

You could say lake and river fishing are the same in that you have to have the right presentation and be where the fish are.

6. Jadguitar

Jadguitar Tele-Meister

Jun 18, 2011
    AZ
    I like to fish scuds, nymphs etc under a strike indicator. Or streamers. Remember you don't have to get it out all that far.

7. jefrs

jefrs Doctor of Teleocity

Nov 20, 2007
    Newbury, England
    Watch the hatch, it's what they're eating.

8. XpensiveWino

XpensiveWino Tele-Meister

Jan 6, 2013
    Banner Elk, NC