Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reiland Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Join TDPRI Today

Floyd Casista Teles (Guthrie Trapp/Kenny Vaughan)

Discussion in 'Other T-Types and Partscasters' started by gregj1964, Mar 17, 2017.

1. gregj1964

gregj1964 TDPRI Member

Mar 17, 2017
    tacoma, washington
    Dear All,

This is my first time ever on a forum, much less this one. I read this one religiously, however. I wanted to post something about my experience buying a Floyd Casista Tele (like the one Kenny Vaughan—Marty Stuart plays). I also hope this is the appropriate place to post this. If not, then my apologies. I am happy to remove it.

I had Floyd make me a guitar on the model of Kenny Vaughan's teal/tele thinline with a bigsby. First, the good stuff. Floyd was good about me paying on it while I was away in England teaching. It took about 7 months, which was fine since I was away almost that entire time. The first incident we had that turned out to be a foreshadowing was that I had to buy the Bigsby. This was not in our original agreement, which we did over the phone (my huge mistake). My partner was there and heard everything, including the final price of $1950, inclusive of everything we discussed about the guitar (Fralin pickups, plus Bigsby). So, Floyd gave me a story about how he didn't say that, and I paid an additional $170 or so for the Bigsby.

Second, the guitar arrived fine, but I had to pay shipping, and provide a case. Floyd said he couldn't provide a case. Any of us know if you pay close to 2k for a guitar, it will always come with a case. Not Floyd. So, that was another $125 or so.

Now the bad: