Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

First Telecaster which direction to go

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by pwhite, Sep 12, 2017.

1. pwhite

pwhite TDPRI Member

May 3, 2011
    Liberty, SC
    So I have put together 5 Strat partscasters and I only own a Squier CV Telecaster, so I picked this body the other day and now I am wondering what I am going to do with. What neck, what color, what finish. I think I just need a nudge in a direction. This is new water for me and I have looked at tons of pictures online, I would like a vintage look but I am by no means a Telecaster expert. Any input would be welcome. Thanks tele-2.jpg tele-3.jpg

Big tuna likes this.

2. tele12

tele12 Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

Dec 2, 2006
    NY
    A couple of advantages to the Tele parts-casters is the bridge and pickups will cost you less than a Strat, and they are easier to set up. My experiences with building partscasters is the Tele seems more foolproof , better chance of getting it to turn out really good.

What colors are the Strats and your CV?

awasson and Big tuna like this.

3. Big tuna

Big tuna Tele-Holic

Oct 28, 2012
    east side
    These projects are like building a house. Spend a lot or a little its up to you. Body has nice grain keep posting on the progress.

4. jvin248

jvin248 Friend of Leo's

Apr 18, 2014
    Near Detroit, MI

Natural rustic finish.
    4-way switching. Switchcraft jack, electrosocket jack mount, bourns pots.

5. Silverface

Silverface Poster Extraordinaire Platinum Supporter

Mar 2, 2003
    Lawndale CA
    The big question here is what finishing experience do you have, what type of work area is available - and what are you thinking about? You must have some idea.