Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups darrenriley.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

First Tele, first real build, need a little advice

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Mr_Q, Jan 10, 2019.

1. Mr_Q

Mr_Q TDPRI Member

Dec 21, 2018
    Iowa
    I'm an experienced woodworker and I'm about to build my first real build.

Guitar #1 was a finished LP body that I bought from Guitar Fetish. I hung some great quality bits on it, did a fret job, and I'm thrilled with the results. I know y'all like pics, so here's it. (BTW, I made the case from scratch. That's genuine faux crocodile.)

Next up is a T-type with a non-traditional body. But I want to start with a good plan. I've downloaded the D-size blueprint at the top of this thread as a starter. (Should I be looking at anything else?)

My challenges are twofold:

1) Source a really good neck without selling a kidney to get it. My goal is a very good playable instrument and I'm not confident in my abilities to build a neck yet. (Next time, baby steps.) I've looked a Warmoth and a couple of others and those look lovely but quite pricey. Are there other neck sources that you've had good luck with?

2) Pickups. My first thought was the EMG Tele active pup kit. Then I was looking at the Guitar Fetish Fatbody models with the over-sized pole pieces. Yesterday I read here about the Bootstrap pickups and was intrigued by their home-grown, made in the USA options. Has anyone had experience with the Fatbody pups? How you you feel about the Bootstraps? (Think rock, beach country and a little surf, no shredding here.)

This is a long term project since I'm presently only designing, and I'm about 1100 miles from my workshop at the moment. I'll post photos of my progress.