Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

First partscaster - White Pine?

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by bglaze, Oct 11, 2017 at 3:43 PM.

1. bglaze

bglaze Tele-Holic

Nov 6, 2006
    Indiana
    I am building my first partscaster. The component I was worried the most about was the neck, since I am an inexperienced builder, so I ordered a nice, pre-finished Allparts neck (maple) from the bay. Some levelling and crowning should hopefully be the only thing needed there.

There are some cheap white pine bodies to be found on ebay as well (this is my example: http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-5...0001&campid=5338148343&icep_item=391902850341)

I know white pine is a very soft wood. I am not concerned in the slightest about dings, as the purpose of this partscaster is to be an ugly player. I have no finishing experience, so the body I choose, if it is unfinished, is not going to be in the hands of a master, as I plan to finish it myself. Again, I assume it'll be ugly.

So, my concern about the softness of White Pine is the functional parts of the body (routes, screw holes, etc). I don't want the wood to be so soft that I have issues functionally.

With the above example in mind from Rasser on the bay, does anyone have any advice or experience?

Also, my main concern with the body I choose is weight. I want a body that is as close to 3lbs as possible.

Thanks!

2. user34603

user34603 TDPRI Member

Dec 5, 2016
    Richmond VA
    one thing I have done on a lot of holes in a body or neck is to use a broomstraw to lightly wipe the inside of the holes with yellow glue. Let it dry overnight... and reassemble. Glue hardens and strengthens the wood the screw threads into (pickguard screws or the 4 wood screws that hold on the neck).

3. bglaze

bglaze Tele-Holic

Nov 6, 2006
    Indiana
    This is great advice, thank you!