Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Finish for Black Limba/Korina

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Vespa_One, Mar 25, 2017.

1. Vespa_One

Vespa_One Tele-Meister

Feb 14, 2017
    United States
    Hello fine people of TDPRI:

I am starting a new build using Black Limba. I am a rookie hobby guitar tinkerer and do not know much about finishing wood although I am enjoying learning. I had planned to use Tru Oil to finish but after testing on scrap I'm not so sure. The oil made the wood darker as I expected but it made the light parts of the wood much much darker so all the grain kind of blends in the same color. I really want the contrasting grain colors to come through. I am wondering if aerosol nitro might be better? Also I have read differing opinions on using grain filler. Grain fill? Nitro? Tru Oil? Something else? Any feedback would be appreciated :)

In the picture posted the oil (upper right) actually looks better than it does in person. It is much muddier looking in person. I tested the oil on the light wood that runs down the center (not pictured) and it turns very dark also IMG_1327.jpg

2. TRexF16

TRexF16 Friend of Leo's

Apr 4, 2011
    Tucson
    I have some Black Limba that I have not yet used, so this is just speculation. On mine, it looks like it definitely will need grain filling if a smooth finish is desired. It's not nearly as open-pored as Ash or Mahogany, but still enough to fill.
    There have been a number of white and black limba builds on TDPRI - try a search and see what you find.

Good luck
    Rex

Vespa_One likes this.

3. bender66

bender66 Friend of Leo's

Jan 18, 2010
    on my bike
    We're in the same boat. You actually already answered a question for me, so thanks.

http://www.tdpri.com/threads/my-turn-how-do-i.717405/