Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Files and ruler for slotting nut

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Geniustoogs, Oct 2, 2017.

1. Geniustoogs

Geniustoogs Tele-Meister

Jul 2, 2016
    California
    Hello! Second post of the day.. sorry :)

I’ve successfully gotten the nut out of my twelve string neck and need to cut the new one. What should I buy in terms of a ruler (I know they make rulers with string slot positions on it) and for files. This is my first attempt at cutting and filling a nut so any additional tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

2. NotAnotherHobby

NotAnotherHobby Tele-Afflicted

Oct 27, 2015
    Da' Magic Mittin'
    The only allow three posts per day, ya know...

;)

Geniustoogs likes this.

3. guitarbuilder

guitarbuilder Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

Mar 30, 2003
    Ontario County
    .....I use a 6" machinists scale available at Harbor Freight or Lowes... 1/64 and 1/32" divisions.

https://www.mscdirect.com/browse/tnpla/56207335?cid=ppc-google-New+-+Measuring+&+Inspecting+-+PLA_sDGUlkD7l___164110844316_c_S&mkwid=sDGUlkD7l|dc&pcrid=164110844316&rd=k&product_id=56207335&gclid=CjwKCAjw6szOBRAFEiwAwzixBWWeccl_QDSJ-sxgCmI3f2jCQtpSEPZH1Fug8TId6PbGCSpyhl9IYxoC3U4QAvD_BwE

Sears used to carry one that is 3/4" wide with nice dark spacing. I think they were made by General. New ones tend to be narrower with lighter lines... they are harder to read but still do the job.

I stick the nut material in a vise. I mark in the end strings, and use an xacto knife to mark them. Then I divide the spacing up with the ruler, marking the positions. A really thin saw will start the grooves but a nut file set really makes the job easy.

I currently have a Hosco set from Philly Luthiers supply.

http://www.philadelphialuthiertools...iles/?utm_medium=googleshopping&utm_source=bc