Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Fender USA special Telecaster

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by vishnu, Sep 1, 2017.

1. vishnu

vishnu Tele-Meister

Jun 5, 2011
    scotland
    These have for some reason flown under my radar, until now that is......

They also tick all of my boxes....9.5 radius, jumbo frets,22 frets, headstock end truss rod, barrel bridge, black guard look, adjustable neck pick up.......oh boy

Question Peeps, are they as good as they look....wanna pipe in with your thoughts?

:)

Owensv likes this.

2. bluzkat

bluzkat Tele-Meister

Feb 20, 2011
    Lansing, Michigan
    Owensv likes this.

3. VerySlowHand

VerySlowHand Tele-Meister

I'm no expert, but from what I've read on here* there is little love for jumbo frets and Texas Specials. It was on my shortlist, as I don't own a tele right now, but I'm going for a maple-necked Baja.

* I wouldn't necessarily read the NGD threads for info about these. First flush of ownership and nobody is going to chip in with a critique to take the wind out of their sails.

AxemanVR likes this.

4. vishnu

vishnu Tele-Meister

Jun 5, 2011
    scotland

5. vishnu

vishnu Tele-Meister

Jun 5, 2011
    scotland
    Hmmmm don't know ( little love ) if the Jumbo frets and Texas specials is true....I'd be surprised.....the thin frets on the 52 RI were a bummer for me.....perhaps some will pipe in

thanks all

Ripradiant likes this.

6. AxemanVR

AxemanVR Tele-Afflicted

Dec 27, 2011
    Minnesota USA
    '
    It's the old "you can't please everyone" conundrum...

Jumbo frets are great unless you press down really hard, which can cause intonation problems. But if you have a lighter touch, then they are great because you don't have to press down so hard... see the paradox?