Fender Super Twin Reverb vs. Twin Reverb / Dual Showman Reverb etc - need help

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by jondom22, Apr 4, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jondom22

jondom22 TDPRI Member

Hi - Noobie to the forum over here, although I've read way to many discussions.

Anyways, I'm looking for a new amp for this punk, noise, experimental group I started playing in, and am looking for something very loud and clean that can keep up with a loud as **** drummer and bassist during gigs that we are not mic'd (aka grimy ****hole DIY punk basements and warehouses).

Just as a background before anyone tells me to get off their lawn and dismisses me as tone-deaf little bastard, I've been playing jazz, rock, funk, reggae, blues etc. (studied jazz in college) prior, and have been using a SF Deluxe Reverb that was blackfaced (and a couple other mods) years ago by the maginificent amp guru, Bill Caruth (worked on Trey Anastasio's amps, and was the go-to guy for any pros that came through VT including Bill Frisell).

Anyhoo, I really just want something that is a nice clean yet warm platform for me to through some heavy fuzz and other weird **** in front of.

From my research, it looks like the Fender Super Twin Reverb is the loudest and cleanest (Fender-made) Tube amp at 180 watts with 6 x 6L6 tubes. They're hard to come by and from what I've heard is that they won't be as easy to maintain as a regular Twin Reverb due to some weird preamp tubes they used and I'm sure some various caps or design issues.

On the other hand, I was possibly looking to get either a late 70's (i.e. 135 watt version, made from 1977 - 1982?) SF Dual Showman Reverb (same as Twin but in head form), SF Twin Reverb, SF Bassman 135, or find a Quad or Super Six Reverb.

Ideally I'd like to put whatever I get into a head cab, and power a 4x12.