Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reiland Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Join TDPRI Today

Eyelet board do-over on a '63 RI reverb unit

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by JBennett, Feb 1, 2012.

  1. JBennett

    JBennett Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    1,737
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Location:
    Cold Spring, NY
    UPDATED. Thanks. Now, what exactly is a 100r resistor? Ah, I see. It's how those "across the pond" say 100 Ohms.

    So, with the reverb unit with the three prong chord grounded, will I get a ground loop when using it with a three chord grounded amp?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. milocj

    milocj Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,858
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
    I haven't had any ground loop problems with the Revibe that I built. I always plug them into the same outlet which should guarantee the wiring is correct, so I haven't tried it other ways that may potentially cause a loop. The original reissue that you started with had a three-prong cord, correct?
     
  3. JBennett

    JBennett Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    1,737
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Location:
    Cold Spring, NY
    Yes, and I plan on reusing the same power chord. Thanks. I'm going to stick with the three prong grounded for safety.
     
  4. Forum Sponsor Sponsored posting

  5. JBennett

    JBennett Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    1,737
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Location:
    Cold Spring, NY
    Made two of my boards today...

    [​IMG]
     
  6. hackworth1

    hackworth1 Friend of Leo's Vendor Member

    Posts:
    3,437
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Location:
    Volusia County, Florida
    Nice job and good photo details. I made a full wave rectifier with four 1N4007 diodes in just the same way you have detailed.

    I made mine for a Champ which has a repurposed Fender 600 PT (which used that type of rectifier on it's PCB). Works like a champ.
     
  7. JBennett

    JBennett Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    1,737
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Location:
    Cold Spring, NY
    Hackworth. Thanks. Do you have photos of your champ rebuild? I'd love to see.
     
  8. JBennett

    JBennett Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    1,737
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Location:
    Cold Spring, NY
    Dog house layout...

    [​IMG]
     
  9. JBennett

    JBennett Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    1,737
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Location:
    Cold Spring, NY
    New (old) meter on the way...

    [​IMG]
     
  10. tubeswell

    tubeswell Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,606
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    NZ
  11. JBennett

    JBennett Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    1,737
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Location:
    Cold Spring, NY
    Meter arrived this morning. Put in some fresh batteries, works like a charm! Very cool old machine. Cost me less than a chinese radio-shack meter. Might make for a nice book-end too... solid block.
     
  12. JBennett

    JBennett Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    1,737
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Location:
    Cold Spring, NY
    Still waiting on components, but this Meter is keeping me occupied. Cool guts...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  13. JBennett

    JBennett Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    1,737
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Location:
    Cold Spring, NY
    I've started in on my board. Still waiting on a few straggling components...

    I know, I'll now need to de-solder a few points along the way, but I could use the practice anyway.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  14. EdMax

    EdMax Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    273
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Illinois

    I have 2 of these, one was my dads and one I grabbed for 5 bucks at an auction. At one time, back in the 50's/60's I bet there wasn't a TV/Radio shop around that didn't have one of these.
    Simpson back then was what Fluke is today, the go to device.

    I have the optional 653 ac ammeter add on for mine as well.
    http://www.simpson260.com/accessories/add_a_tester/add-a-tester.htm

    I rarely use these anymore though, kind of keepsake /collectable now.

    You might like this site.
    http://simpson260.com/
     
  15. JBennett

    JBennett Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    1,737
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Location:
    Cold Spring, NY
    Thanks. Yeah, I found that site. That's where I stole the photo from, mine is just like it though, and downloaded the manual.

    Fun device. And it works well.
     
  16. JBennett

    JBennett Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    1,737
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Location:
    Cold Spring, NY
  17. JBennett

    JBennett Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    1,737
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Location:
    Cold Spring, NY
    Rectifier:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Main board:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Electrolytics:

    [​IMG]
     
  18. hackworth1

    hackworth1 Friend of Leo's Vendor Member

    Posts:
    3,437
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Location:
    Volusia County, Florida
  19. andyfromdenver

    andyfromdenver Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,702
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Location:
    grandpa's
    Coming along so well. Anxious to hear your before and after impression!
     
  20. JBennett

    JBennett Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    1,737
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Location:
    Cold Spring, NY
    hackworth. I guess mine is more recent since I just threw it together... If I have trouble, I might use the weber plan for alternatives.

    Andy, thanks. I've been testing all my connections with my meter. All the resistors are still reading properly and all my connections seem to be conducting solidly.

    That Watts yellow wire is kind of a pain to work with. It's really thick. I guess that is what is needed for the voltage in an amp. I'm used to the dinky 22ga stuff for guitars.
    Plus, this is teflon coated AND cloth coated. I had to re-drill my wire holes to accommodate it, and it's not as easy to push back. Oh well. It seems to be getting the job done and seems to be pretty rugged.
     
  21. JBennett

    JBennett Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    1,737
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Location:
    Cold Spring, NY
    So. I'll need a capacitor cover "doghouse". I'm not against buying a nice one for 15-20 dollars, but it feels like a lot for a pressed plate of aluminum.

    [​IMG]

    Anyone have any tips on alternatives? I looked at a bunch of electrical outlet covers/boxes/housings at home depot and none of them were right. But maybe there is some other source for a simple aluminum box with tabs? I could also buy a sheet of aluminum and cut/fold my own, but with limited time for this project I might just order one at that point.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


Share This Page