Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Excited Newbie from Minnesota

Discussion in 'Welcome Wagon' started by faess, Dec 7, 2017 at 1:46 AM.

1. faess

faess NEW MEMBER!

Thursday
    Minneapolis Minnesota
    Hi everyone! I am currently a student at the University of Minnesota and have been playing guitar, only acoustic unfortunately, for almost a year now. One thing I really want to do over the next couple years while I'm at Univ is to build my own electric guitar from scratch.

I look forward to interacting with everyone and hopefully you guys have some good tips for me. Thanks so much!

2. brookdalebill

brookdalebill Telefied Ad Free Member

Nov 15, 2009
    Austin, Tx

3. DonM

DonM Tele-Holic Ad Free Member

Apr 21, 2016
    Henderson,NV/SLC,UT

4. unixfish

unixfish Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free + Supporter

Apr 20, 2013
    Northeast Ohio, USA
    Welcome! Just how "from scratch" are you referring to? We have some people here in the builders sub-forum that will carve a neck from a piece of maple and cut / install their own frets - which is probably not what you meant - to people who assemble finished parts - which may be more of what you mean? Unless you are into wood finishing and want to create your own custom color, etc.

Good luck!

5. GTG_Gopher

GTG_Gopher TDPRI Member

Dec 1, 2017
    Minneapolis Burbs
    Welcome! i'm an alumni, and for another week, an employee of Goldy the Gopher! Random thought, it might be worthwhile to pick up a cheap finished Tele. That way you have a good specimen to compare your scratch build to!

6. troy2003

troy2003 Tele-Afflicted

Mar 30, 2010
    Central Minnesota

7. FrankJames

FrankJames Poster Extraordinaire

Aug 9, 2008
    Ohio, USA

8. faess

faess NEW MEMBER!

Thursday
    Minneapolis Minnesota