Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reiland Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com Reilander Pickups
Join TDPRI Today

ESP LTD style build with a few twists

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Muzikp, Mar 23, 2017.

1. Muzikp

Muzikp Friend of Leo's

Nov 5, 2010
    Sacramento
    Sup TDPRI'ers?

It's been a while since I've started a thread, been building and working on stuff just not documenting.

I'm endeavoring to build a guitar that's not my typical build. Here's the layout plan of it. I'm excited about it because it's a complicated build with a few features I've never done before. This neck is going to be a challenge to get perfect and the carved top is nothing at all like a Les Paul carve.

[​IMG]

First step is to prep some maple for the neck. It will be neck-thru style, not the style where you glue on wings for the body, but the neck will go well into the body. Think of it as a really big tenon, like really big... and fat.

[​IMG]

Cut it down to a workable length, this is probably the longest neck blank I've ever made, even longer than some of the 35" scale bass guitars I've built.

[​IMG]

Rip it in half, yes I know, exciting documentation, but I must have thought it was important enough to take the picture so now you can enjoy it also. To distract you from the boring photo, notice the yellow bandsaw table. It was a mod to my saw I did a while back, that table sits about 2" lower than the standard table it came with. I also modified the guard on top and made the rollers tuck way up inside the guard. I can now resaw 9" boards on this standard size 14" saw, so there's that.

[​IMG]