Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

Eleven Rack

Discussion in 'Modeling Amps, Plugins and Apps' started by TieDyedDevil, Mar 1, 2013.

1. TieDyedDevil

TieDyedDevil Tele-Holic

Sep 8, 2006
    Portland, OR
    Why not...? This subforum is looking a bit lonely at the moment.

I've been using an Eleven Rack for a couple years now. I wasn't one of the early adopters, nor do I count myself among the crowd that feels "abandoned" by Avid. The Eleven Rack remains a useful tool for me.

There are certainly plenty of choices for modelers. So why the Eleven Rack? For me, the one feature that stands out above all other modelers (not counting software hosted on general-purpose computers, which is not in my realm of interest) is that the Eleven Rack's models behave substantially like the gear they model. If you know, for example, that you can find a good starting point for your sound by setting the controls on a Fender Twin a certain way, then you select the Twin model on the Eleven Rack, dial in your favorite setting, and get the sound you expect to hear. That's not something that happens with other modelers.

A lot of *my* favorite sounds come from a Tweed Deluxe. I've played a lot of real Tweed Deluxe amps, from vintage 5C3, 5D3 and 5E3s up through modern recreations like the Victoria 20112. I know how a good Tweed Deluxe should sound and respond; the Eleven Rack nailed it. That's the reason I bought mine.

There are some other good amps in there, too. I prefer the Fender amp models; they all sound and play great.

2. stevieboy

stevieboy Poster Extraordinaire

Mar 16, 2003
    the valley